Into the Wild, Part One: Towards a Post-Civilized Critique of Civilization

http://www.hamptoninstitution.org/into-the-wild-part-one.html#.Vln5JPmrSM8

thoughts? feedback? questions? critiques?

I really enjoyed this piece.

I’ve always felt weird about identifying as an anarchist, and I think your articulation helped me to understand why. I could never put it into words, it was just the feeling. I have no background in anarchism, and frankly got lost in the reading trying to figure it out. While I agree with anarcho-primitivism, and consider myself an anarcho-primitivist, I would never officially call myself that for the reasons you mentioned in there.

I didn’t know much about deep ecology, so that was interesting too. It was great to hear your journey through these various realms, and to see how you were always going deeper, looking for the root. I could think of a half dozen or so topics/subcultures that I trickled through, that I would think the same thing: permaculture, trackers, survivalism, “doomers,” homesteaders, back to the landers, naturalists, etc. No one seems to take things further. Even rewilding is getting stunted and moralized in the manner you mentioned. Some of that is my own doing! :wink:

I think on some level, there will never be a name/word to describe people like us, or what we are doing for real. I’ve been on board with the word rewilding for a long time, and I think it’s the most accessible word to decribe this process, but from where a lot of us are now, even that word feels old and troublesome. I’ll keep using it, similarly to how I occasionally use the word “primitive skills.” But the culture and flow of people doing what we used to call rewilding has moved beyond it I think.

Sorry for the late reply, ha! I’ve been in and out of the field lately, and haven’t been checking in on my internet duties :wink: