Willem's moderation style has changed

Folks. 99% of y’all I just love to death. Thanks for joining in on Rewild.info. Some of you even act more concerned than necessary over possibly crossing a forum guideline; still, I appreciate the care and interest in respecting the culture here.

We have a continuing tiny percentage (very tiny) of folks who seem really uninterested in stepping lightly, getting to know the forum, reading the “READ THIS FIRST” topic, etc.

Frankly, this boggles my mind. Internet or no, anonymity or full identity disclosure, I come from a culture where you say please and thank you, respect the host, and look to others with more experience to learn how to “fit in”.

I’ve had some experiences lately where I send a polite pm to a new member who seems a little “loud”, asking them to slow down, and I get a lot of indignance in response.

Once again, this totally boggles my mind.

I used to react with patience, understanding, and a willingness to have a looooooong conversation until they felt heard and then could finally participate in the forum in the way we all enjoy; Telling A Story, Asking A Question, etc.

Honestly folks, I don’t have energy for that anymore. I spend less and less time on the internet (believe it or not :slight_smile: ), and just don’t have the mindset I used to have.

Also I don’t get paid for this.

In discussion with Urban Scout, we’ve decided that we want mature people, with adult sensibilities (even mature 9 year olds with adult sensibilities count!), who know how to treat other folks and resist the temptations of the anonymous internet environment. And who do the work to read forum guidelines and such. We’ve decided to have new members experience a 30-day delay in posting privileges upon sign up.

Honestly, I don’t believe in Free Speech, when it comes to my living room. Rewild.info doesn’t sit in the public square; it sits in my digital living room.