The Shamanic Class

Not only do people misunderstand that “houseless” does not mean “homeless”, but I believe, as others do, that the American society (as well as most other “civilized” countries) is depraved of the shamanic class and subculture. That without this class we are without a traditional “Wise Man”, and forever lost in our own folies against Mother Nature. This is reason for human rewilding, to cultivate a neo-shamanic class, to forge an alliance with those who are willing to “decondition themselves from society’s distrust of the mystery and walk in to it”, to paraphrase Terence McKenna. I wrote a short article on this called “Guerilla Urban Camping” which I posted on my site RovingFestival.com. I am a veteran “urban camper” and I’m seeking others to join my Artopium Art Troupe. Let me know what you think with a reply!

Hey thanks for this, Artopium! The place I rent was just recently put up for sale and I asked myself, why should I pay rent? So instead of finding another place I decided I’d try living in a tent. This article of yours came at a very opportune moment for me.

Thanks again!
Rob

I hear yall about the tent thing. I hope to be getting cash enough for all my camping needs, and live that way once my lease ends mid August, and couch surfing the rest. I’ve found a few spots around town that seem decent enough and away enough it’d be hard to find me, so why not give it a go? No rent = less money required = less time spent getting money = more free time. Works for me.

Thanks for such a thoughtful and provocative post, Artopium.

Thank you for your replies. I plan on making a complete “guide” to urban camping, including a more comprehensive list of equipment necessary, good techniques for finding camping spots, etc. I know there is already a plethera of websites that do this already, but I thought I might add to it in my own way.