My life right now

I’m writing this because, well, I don’t know, because I feel like I’m in a situation similar to the one others may be in, particularly us younger members of the board. I’m not trying to solicit responses or advice (though you’re welcome to respond with whatever you’ve got), I just wanted to “tell my story” as it stands right now.

I live a posh, lethargic life at the moment. I graduated from university in the spring with a very expensive piece of paper and, aside from a three month stint working on a farm, find myself living back under my parents’ roof, where I spend my days surfing the internet, reading books, going on walks and bike rides, and eating.

I left the farm I was working on at the beginning of September with the idea that I was going to go on a month long hike up in the mountains. I wouldn’t be living off the land by any means, just hiking from my brother’s place through some national forests to my grandmother’s place. The fact that I had never gone backpacking before didn’t faze me, though I was scared of being alone on the trail.

Well, I got a ride up to the mountains and started out, and, well, embarassingly, ended up back home within the week after only about 24 hours and 15 miles on the trail… dehydrated and exhausted (did not carry enough capacity for water). So much for my big plans! In retrospect, I know I bit off way more than I could chew, which I feel is one of the few things I can consistently do with success – overestimate and overcommit. One of the few good things that came with my aborted hike was that I got to see real, live, bonafide, albeit young American Chestnuts growing out in the wild. That strummed my heartstrings!

So, since then, I’ve been back home, living comfortably off my parents’ dime. They are generous enough to give their son who talks a big game about the evils of civilization and the beauty of ecology the benefit of patience while he works things out, and I’m truly grateful to them for that.