Job

Not sure if this is the right thread but here it goes…

I am studying in a wilderness guide course. The reason why I applied was to learn more about wilderness. Previously I had thought about going to Teaching Drum, but lord almighty it is expensive! So, this is the poorwomans solution. While the emphasis is completely different from that in TD, I have learned alot during the past year. Now I am even comfortable sleeping in a quinzhee when it’s -36 degrees celcius outside. While we have had a lot great expeditions, the gore of the education has been on customer service.

So to the next topic, we have to do pratical training (free labour slave work) as part of our education. I have been in contact with some wilderness companies, but they are all about pampering tourist, which of course is their main income, but I dont think I want to do that for a very long period of time. I would like to go do my training in a place where I could be outside most of the time learning wilderness skills, maybe its too much to ask but I have to try it anyway ;D So if anybody on this forum knows anybody or anything (anywhere!) of a place that could have an enthusiastic learner for a few months or more, I would appreciate the info. Otherwise I guess I will just have to go work on another husky farm. (Not to complain, but imagine the bark!)

i can’t help with a job, but i am interested in the wilderness guide program that you are studying. i’m currently comparing schools and programs. thanks!

The place where the course is held is Kuru, a very small town of 3000 people, some 50 kms north from Tampere. There are many wilderness guide programs in Finland, but this is the only one held in English, so there are people all over the world, I heard that on the next course there are some from Tasmania and Belgium atleast.