Canning food?

i am completely new to canning, and am wondering what can or can’t be canned an the longevity of the items canned.

for example, if we canned some cut up apples in sugar water, could we do so without using preservatives and how long could they sit on the shelf and still be edible?

are there special processes neccessary to store other types of food?

i know i can research these on google, just thought there might be an authority here that would be a more righteous source

thanks

justin

As a general rule, fruit can be canned using a simple boiling water bath. Vegetables and meat must be cannned using a pressure canner.

The fruit is refferred to as being “acidic” which brings up two exceptions to the general rule. Pickled stuff and tomatoes. Because they are also acidic they can be canned in just boiling water.

You will have to look up the proper procedures because they are more than I would like to go into here. Each type of food has it’s own timing and/or pressure. The companies that make the jars and lids have very easy to follow instruction books with all the information about the variables such as the elevation where you live and timing and pressure, etc.

We have canned lots of different things over the years and we continue to do it even though we have a freezer now. We got a huge haul of bananas once from a dumpster and made banana goop and canned that. It was awesome for pies and banana bread and desserty things. That was before we got a freezer.

We make a big pot of soup with the carcass every time we have a turkey. Then we can what we dont eat right away. I also cut up and boil the bones from deer that we eat and can that. When we want soup we just open a quart or two of that marrow broth add veggies and it’s almost like instant soup.
That broth must be pressure canned though.

We don’t keep anything more than three years.
Follow the instructions in the books for your own safety.

hi victor

thanks for the info.