Anyone play?

Since we have this board here and the only mention of music so far seems to be listing song lyrics, I was wondering how many of you play any instruments or otherwise perform musically. I’ll start with my bragging:

I’ve been playing bass guitar for ten years now, took lessons in jazz bass for a couple years, and played for a few years in a punk/alternative band that had limited local following. I also sang back-up, and have slowly been honing my singing ability, which has involved having to accept that my voice can’t venture far from low octaves. I think I can sing well enough to do lead now, but perhaps only if I stick to punk. I’m looking to get a band together right now, with a friend who also plays bass.

Through practice and one Anthro/Music class, I’ve gained some skill with large hand drums like congas and djembes. I’d say in that regard I’m better than most people who think they can drum but can’t (such as so many people in the neopagan community I’ve run across), but by no means am I talented.

vocally, i couldn’t carry a tune to save my life, but i tinker around w/ harmonica & pennywhistle.

I enjoy playing anything and everything I can get my hands on. Usually consists of guitar, also trying to teach myself some more penny whistle and (hopefully fiddle). But seriously almost anything, tho not so much brass I suppose…

I took piano lessons for over 10 years and then harpsichord (which I adore) throughout college. Not very Wild. :wink:

But having that experience means that I’m comfortable enough with picking up any old musical instrument and trying to get something out of it without feeling too much discouragement.

i play a little guitar, and love to sing, but i won’t claim to be good at either :wink: