Rewilding Vs. Acting

Preamble: This is a personal internal dialogue and while many may find it useful, I am aware of the individual specificity of it. Any guidance or dialogue is appreciated from this community’s perspective.

I began acting a decade ago. It was a natural medium of self expression and instant link to community and tribe in service of something greater than the individual than I had ever felt before. I took a year off after high school to work professionally on stage. I studied at one of the top conservatories in the US for four years and then began working immediately out of school with representation on both coasts. I worked consistently over the last four years, originating new roles, working off-broadway, in independent film, and around the country. However, as I went quickly into nature to balance out my hyper urban existence and dove deeper into my experience and education of my place as a human in the natural world, rewilding emerged… and now I feel split in two.

On the one hand: I would love to amass as much knowledge of ancestral skills and bushcraft as possible to one day live off grid in a group of individuals that share my passion and practice for reconnecting with the earth, ourselves, and the community of life and thereby move some vital healing work forward. Yet… my people and my community of story tellers are urbanites in New York City.