Face/body paints

ok, so this fall i’ve had this urge to paint my face and body. i’m a total newb, but i’ve heard of clay body and face paints. does anyone have any experience with these things? any tips on what to use for colors? best ways to mix things up.

many thanks,
wildeyes

for what purpose? Camouflage? Decor?

for fun. :smiley:

funny you should ask. i just found some hunks of red clay in a creek today–amazing, just like round hunks of pastels to draw/paint with–and immediately put some on my face. :stuck_out_tongue:

i brought some home to experiment with.

It might sound funny, but often i’ve had fantasies thinking that i should paint my face… scar my body (dont worry i know how to)… i dunno… especially at important moments and situations involving conflict.

Can anyone tell me more about this? itd be nice to know what paints to use…things i can scavenge or forage…

Turns out the clay lost its face-painting magic when it left its creek.

Out in the woods, fresh out of the cold mountain creek, it held itself together in a firm ball, with a smeary, clay-like texture. In my kitchen, it blows apart into a million crumbly pieces. I tried getting it cold and wet in the fridge again, but I think that creek has something my kitchen doesn’t.

Some sort of iron oxide? It looks like a bowl of rust.

I’ve made some cool looking black body paint by puvlerizing burned wood and mixing it with sunflower oil

Yeah on Creek bed mud and clay!!

Stupid/inspiring story: I was on mushrooms once, and somehow the consistency of the mud and my mindset was perfect and I just started painting my arms. (**Later I decided to take a shower ot remove it and called in “washing the hippi off”. In the end, I think that said more about underlying embarrassment with it than any “lameness”.) It was bautiful. Mud feels cool and rad. And I somehow made some awesome swirly designs that were wonderful.